Kafqa Logo

Level 1 Course Structure


These are the basic footsteps learnt in bharatanatyam classes, where the students learn to strike their feet in a half-knee position. There are 8 variations in Thattadavu.


These are the steps that involve stretching the legs. There are 8 variations in Nattadavu.

Paraval adavu

These are the steps that involve sweeping/swinging movements to cover space. Students will learn 3 variations in Paraval adavu.


These are the steps that involve sliding of the foot or heel depending on the variation. There are 4 variations in Jaaradavu.

Performance Preparation

As the excitement builds towards your performance, get help from our instructors through our classical dance classes to prepare for your big day.

Final Performance

Invite your friends & family to watch you perform Bharatnatyam online. Become a star and own the stage.


These are the basic footsteps learnt in bharatanatyam classes, where the students learn to strike their feet in a half-knee position. There are 8 variations in Thattadavu.

Revision and Practice Materials

Revision and Practice Materials

Watch the syllabus videos to practice the techniques taught in the online Bharatanatyam class.

Syllabus Videos
Bharatanatyam Image 2 - Kafqa
Bharatanatyam Image 2 - Kafqa

Other classes at Kafqa


Here are a few questions frequently asked to us. Please reach out to us for further queries.

What does Bharatanatyam mean?

Bha means emotion (Bhava), Ra means music (Raaga), Ta means rhythm (Taal), and Natyam is dance in Bharatanatyam. Bharatanatyam dance is a kind of performing art that rigorously follows the Natyashastra (the scripture of classical Indian dance) and combines music, rhythm, and emotion.

Is Bharatanatyam easy to learn?

Learning Bharatanatyam be it online or offline requires consistency and patience. It is a long process which can be made easy through regular practice and dedication. Ensuring that you attend your Bharatanatyam dance classes regularly will be the first step.

How many grades are there in Bharatanatyam?

There are six practical examination grades in bharatanatyam classical dance, numbered from 1 to 6, in order to indicate the increasing order of difficulty (6 represents the highest level of attainment).

What are the benefits of Bharatnatyam?

Learning Bharatanatyam online can help a student gain confidence, strength, mental peace and knowledge on Indian culture. It is also a good form of aesthetic physical exercise.

What is the purpose of Bharatanatyam dance?

The purpose of Bharatanatyam dance is to spread knowledge through storytelling which is incorporated into the dance movements. It was initially performed to preach about the hindu gods and goddesses in temples and to tell their stories through dance.

How many steps are there in Bharatanatyam?

There are 10 major Adavus in Bharatanatyam and 8 minor adavus. Apart from this there are various other parts of Bharatanatyam like Hastas, Bhedas, Abhinaya, Rasas etc which are required for performances.

How many years does it take to complete the Bharatanatyam Course?

If you wish to be a good , neat professional Bharatanatayam performer, you may need 7-8 years before you present your debut recital - Arangetram / Rangapravesh. Bharatanatyam is a vast ocean of learning which never gets over. Though when professionally learnt and practised, a usual Bharatanatyam course takes somewhere between 7-8 years to complete all the major aspects of this beautiful performing art form.

Are there online bharatanatyam classes available?

Yes, there are online bharatanatyam classes offered by Kafqa Academy. These classes give you access to the right bharatanatyam courses and instructors who are qualified to teach this wonderful performing art form.

What is the opening prayer or sloka of the Bharatanatyam dance?

The opening prayer verse or Sloka of Bharatanatyam, known as the dhyana sloka, is taken from Nandikeswara's Abhinaya Darpana. This prayer is made in honour of Nata Raja, the dancing master.

What is Bharatanatyam Arangetram?

Arangetram is a two-part Tamil word arangam and etram that means “stage" and "rise to" respectively. It is regarded as a Bharatanatyam dancer's solo debut, a first significant achievement in the life of a dance student that ratifies their continued advanced training in the profession and certifies their preparation.

What is namaskaram in Bharatanatyam?

Before and after Bharatanatyam dancing, a namaskaram is a brief sequence of hand and leg motions. This is thought to be a technique to obtain Mother Earth's blessings to dance better and to express regret to her for having stamped on her so forcefully while dancing.

How many Adavus are there in Bharatanatyam?

In Bharatnatyam, there are 13 different categories for adavus. There are other variations listed under them.

How can one build stamina for Bharatanatyam?

Your stamina will improve with regular exercise. A healthy diet will increase your body's hydration and give you more energy. Practice regularly is most important. Never lose motivation to practise if you want to improve as a dancer.