Kafqa Logo

Learn the Sapta Swaras of Carnatic Music Notes Online

6th May, 2022

For the majority of the people in the present scenario, life has taken a corporate turn for them. The hectic schedule doesn’t allow these individuals to dedicate enough time to nurture their passion in their respective fields of interest. Taking a break from the regular work pressure seems quite impossible. But, if there is a will, then there is a way. If you are passionate about Carnatic music, enroll yourself in the online Carnatic music classes! In this way, you will get the opportunity to hone your skills according to your comfort zone and convenience. Check out this blog to gain some theoretical knowledge related to Carnatic music.

A Very beautiful Kriti composed in Ragam Aarabhi

What Do You Understand by Carnatic Music?

Carnatic music is a famous form of classical music that predominantly exists in Southern India. Some southern regions include Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, and Telangana. It is undoubtedly one of the oldest forms of classical music in India.

What Are the Important Elements of Carnatic Music?

Some of the essential elements of Carnatic music are as follows:

  • Sruti, which is the musical pitch.
  • Swara is a specific tone assigned to a particular musical note.
  • Raga, which is the formulae of musical notes.
  • Taala is a sequence of several rhythms that are already predetermined.

Name Some of the Important Instruments Used in Carnatic Music

Check out the names of the instruments stated below:

  • Mridanga
  • Tamboori
  • Harmonium
  • Violin
  • Ghatam
  • Flute
  • Veena

Book Free Trial Class


Phone Number:

What Do You Mean by Swaras?

From the topic mentioned above, you must have understood that this blog mainly discusses the Sapta Swaras of Carnatic music. But, before getting straight into the seven Carnatic music notes, you need to develop an understanding of Swaras.

In short, Swaras are musical tones or notes in an octave. Each Swaras come with its unique sound, and you can get to hear a fantastic melody by combining these sounds.

What Are the Sapta Swaras?

Now comes the central part, Sapta Swaras. As mentioned earlier, these are Carnatic music notes. The names are mentioned below in this blog:

  • Sa- Shadjama (Tonic)
  • Ri- Rishabha
  • Ga- Gandhara
  • Ma- Madhyama
  • Pa- Panchama (Perfect Fifth)
  • Da- Dhaivata
  • Ni- Nishada

The notes ‘Sa’ and ‘Pa’ are referred to as Prakriti Swaras, and on the other hand, the rest of the five notes are termed as Vikruthi Swaras.

What Are the Meanings of Each of the Swaras?

Each of the Saptaswara names comes with different meanings, such as:

  • Shadja means Peacock
  • Rishabha means Ox
  • Gandhara means Goat
  • Madhyama means Krauncha Bird
  • Panchama means Cuckoo
  • Dhaivata means Horse
  • Nishada means Elephant

Did you notice one interesting thing in these Carnatic music notes? “Sa, Ma, and Pa” are bird sounds, whereas “Ra, Ga, Dha, and Ni” are animal sounds.

There are specific phenomenal stories revolving around the Sapta Swaras; check out some of the points stated below:

  • Sa or Shadja is the ecstatic sound of a Peacock. When they witness rainy clouds getting assembled up in the sky, they tend to release this kind of sound.
  • Re or Rishabha refers to a cow’s roaring sound the moment they are separated from its calf.
  • Ga or Gandhara is the sound of a goat bleating.
  • Ma or Madhyama typically refers to Heron’s cry.
  • Pa or Panchama is the soothing and melodious sound of Nightingale or Indian Kokila during the months of Spring.
  • Dha or Dhaivata means Horse’s neighing.
  • Ni or Nishada refers to elephant trumpeting.

Learn About the Positions of Swaras in Carnatic Music

Quickly look at the two unique combinations of 7 notes written below:

  • Mayamalavagowla - It is also known as the Double Harmonic Scale. In ascending order, the Swaras are- S r G m P d N S, and in descending order, they are- S N d P m G r S
  • Shankarabharanam - In ascending order, the Swaras are S R G m P D N S, whereas in descending order, the Swaras are S N D P m G R S.

What Are the Benefits of Learning Carnatic Music?

If you have come so far reading this blog, you might wonder how learning Carnatic music can benefit you. Take a look at some of the benefits and clear your doubts right now:

  • Online Carnatic Music Classes is a Stress Remover - Music is a form of art that can calm and soothe you within a few moments. It can eventually lower your blood pressure and erase all other mundane thoughts. All you need is utmost focus and tenacity.
  • Improves Your Brain Functioning - Learning Carnatic music notes can lead to sharp and improved brain functions. The entire learning process enables the candidates to listen, execute and introspect tasks with top-notch precision.
  • Boosts Your Listening Skills - If you engross yourself totally in the learning process, it will gradually enhance your listening skills and reasoning abilities. It will allow you to spot negligible variations occurring between sounds.
  • It Allows Self-Expression - Carnatic music can bless the learners with massive scope for creativity and self-expression. You can express yourself fully through this form of art.

The Bottom Line

Hopefully, you have grasped the theoretical meaning of the Sapta Swaras. But in art, unless and until you are exposing yourself to the practical field, you will not be able to enjoy the real-life experience. Register yourself for online Carnatic music classes and be one of a kind!

Related Articles

External Articles

Related Blogs