Kafqa Logo

Bharatanatyam Adavus – The Complete Guide to Learn Adavus Steps

7th Jul, 2022

Are you an aspiring dancer willing to secure your career in the Bharatanatyam field? If yes, then you must gather some theoretical knowledge about the Bharatanatyam Adavus. Of course, the professional trainers will teach you everything practically, but gaining prior insights will enable you to level up your game at a rapid pace.

Keep reading this blog till the very end, and you will come across a plethora of information in no time. Dear dance lovers, stay tuned!

Bharatanatyam Adavus- What Does this Term Mean?

In simple words, the term Adavu refers to basic steps. It is nothing but the ABCs of learning Bharatanatyam from an initial stage. As you know, the combination of letters forms a word, and a thread of words is termed a sentence. Adavus in Bharatanatyam is quite similar to that; it helps to construct a sequence in this Indian Classical dance form.

SAMPOORNAM - A complete guide to Bharatanatyam adavus

What Are the Constituents of Bharatanatyam Adavus?

Take a quick look at the three constituents mentioned below in this blog:

  • Sthanakas or the foot or leg movements
  • Charis, which constitutes the body movements, and Mudras, also commonly termed as hand gestures.
  • Mandalas which is the standing position of the Bharatanatyam artist.

In order to involve yourself in the learning process and gain real-life experience, opting for the Bharatanatyam classes is a must!

What Are the Types of Bharatanatyam Adavus?

The list of Bharatanatyam Adavus is indeed a huge one. Check out the pointers mentioned below, and you will come to learn about them:

1. Tatta Adavu

This consists of the words ‘thiyaa thai’ and includes 8 steps.

2. Bharatanatyam Adavus: Natta Adavu

This again consists of 8 steps, and the words used here are ‘thaiyyum tha tha’ and ‘thaiyuum.’

3. Visharu Adavu

This particular type of Adavu can be also addressed as Paraval Adavu, Mardita Adavu and Pakka Adavu. In this Adavu, there are 8 steps, and the words used here are ‘ta tai tai ta’ and ‘dhit tai tai ta.’ Joining the Bharatanatyam dance classes will allow you to grab all the lessons in an elaborate manner.

4. Tatti Metti Adavu

Here, the word ‘tatti’ refers to tapping on the floor, while the term ‘mitti’ means your heels should be kept in touch with the floor. This is one of the most common and basic steps used in the Bharatanatyam dance form.

5. Tirumanam Adavu

This Adavu consists of two steps, and the words used here are:

  • Thari kita thom
  • Tha dhin gina thom

Book Free Trial Class


Phone Number:

6. Murka Adavu

The other name for Murka Adavu is Sutral Adavu consisting of 4 steps in the movement. The words involved here are:

  • Thai thai tham
  • Dhit that than

7. Jati Adavu

This Adavu in Bharatanatyam dance style depicts a thalam. Take a look at the 5 types mentioned below:

  • Tishra
  • Chatushra
  • Khanda
  • Mishra
  • Sankeerna

8. Kuditametta Adavu

This is one of the most common Bharatanatyam Adavus, characterized by jumping and striking the floor with the heels. The dancers perform this step while sitting in an Aramandi position, thus giving it an overall nice look.

9. Mandi Adavu

Here, the dancers need to bend their knees and perform the step at three different speeds. Once you are able to master this skill, you will surely start enjoying the learning process.

10. Sarikal Adavu

The term sarikal refers to slide. The dancers tend to slide one of their feet and lift the other one to perform this activity. This particular position is also termed Tadittam in Bharatanatyam.

Checkout this video to learn all about the Bharatanatyam Adavus in sequences.

What Is Meant by Aramandi in Bharatanatyam Adavus?

Aramandi is the basic posture used in the Bharatanatyam dance form. The performers maintain their body posture in a half-sitting position. The bent knees in Aramandi highlight the mudras, or your hand gestures, excellently.

Apart from that, the Aramandi position makes your dance costume look appealing and attractive in no time. The vibrant colors are extremely eye-soothing to watch. Mastering the Aramandi posture will act as one of the significant benefits of Bharatanatyam since it will help you to gain stamina and build confidence.

What Are the Three Speeds of Adavus?

The Bharatanatyam artists perform the Adavus at three different speeds, also known as Kalams. Check out the pointers mentioned below here:

  • The slow tempo is known as Bilambita Laya
  • The medium tempo referred to as Madhya Laya
  • The faster tempo is known as Druta Laya

Staying consistent throughout the process will allow you to master this excellent art form. However, before joining one of the Bharatanatyam dance classes, you must perform basic and necessary research in order to choose the right kind of source. Since developing dancing skills demand proper guidance and monitoring, you should always get yourself trained under a well-reputed professional with extensive knowledge and experience.

The Bottom Line

Hopefully, this blog will help you to gain much-needed insights related to the Bharatanatyam Adavus. What are you waiting for? Choose one of the reliable Bharatanatyam classes and start your journey now.

Related Articles

External Articles

Related Blogs