Kafqa Logo

72 Melakarta Ragas in Carnatic Music

6th May, 2022

Carnatic music covers a broad area, and it takes quite a few years to master and excel in this form of art. If your child is interested in Carnatic music, you can enroll them in the online sangeetham classes and seek professional assistance. Check out this blog to gain crucial information about Carnatic music and its 72 melakarta ragas.

What Is Carnatic Music?

Carnatic music has typically originated in the Southern part of India. The lyrics in this classical form of music are incredibly holy. The majority of the songs are dedicated to the Hindu deities. Carnatic music is built upon rhythm, melody, aesthetics, and lyrics.


What Are the Components of Carnatic Music?

There is a typical quote used in Carnatic music -Shruti maata, Laya pita. Shruti here refers to melody, and Laya refers to the rhythm of the art form. These two are the primary components of Carnatic classical music. Let's get a brief about the other components:

  • Shruti - The raw sound of Carnatic classical music is referred to as Shruti. The Shruti of the musical piece doesn't tend to go up and down like every other element; instead, they maintain the same consistency throughout the performance. Additional notes of the musical compositions stay connected to the Shruti of the musical piece. Hence, it is one of the most crucial elements compared to other Carnatic music components. You can learn all these essential details in the online sangeetham classes.
  • Swara - The Swara in a piece of Carnatic music is divided into seven different parts, such:
    • Shadja
    • Rishabha
    • Gandhara
    • Madhyama
    • Panchama
    • Dhaivata
    • Nishada

These seven swaras are commonly known by their short forms' sa-ri-ga-ma-pa-da-ni'.

  • Raga - Raga refers to the song's system that generates the melody. There are72 melakarta ragas which will be discussed later in this blog. These Ragas can also be classified depending upon the time of the day.
  • Tala - It is impossible to create a musical composition or song without incorporating rhythm and beats. This unique combination of rhythm and beats is referred to as Tala. Check out some of the popular Talas mentioned below in this blog:
    • Dhruva Tala
    • Jhampa Tala
    • Eka Tala
    • Rupaka Tala
    • Matya Tala
    • Triputa Tala

These Talas tend to remain the same throughout the composition of Carnatic music.

Now, it's time to learn about the concerning topic that is maintained at the top of the blog. Keep reading from tip to toe and get an idea about the 72 melakarta ragas.

What Do You Mean by Chakras?

Before discussing the ragas, it is essential to develop an understanding related to the chakras. Twelve groups are known as Chakras, and each one of them consists of 6 ragas. Check them out:

  • Indu is the first chakra that stands for the moon.
  • Netra is the second chakra which means eyes.
  • The third chakra is Agni. It refers to three types such as Dakshina, Ahavaniyam, and Garhapatyam.
  • The fourth chakra is Veda. It denotes the four Vedas.
  • The fifth chakra is Bana. It indicates Manmatha's five arrows.
  • The sixth chakra is Rutu. It speaks about the six seasons: Greeshma, Vasanta, Varsha, Hemanta, Sharat, and Shishira.
  • The seventh chakra is Rishi, which means sage. It typically represents the seven sages.
  • The eighth one is Vasu. It refers to the eight Vasus of Hinduism.
  • The ninth one is Brahma.
  • The tenth chakra is Disi Chakra. It indicates ten directions that are West, East, South, North, North West, North East, South West, South East, Below, and Above.
  • The eleventh one is Rudra chakra.
  • The last one is the Aditya chakra.

Learn About the 72 Melakarta Ragas

The 72 Melakarta Ragas are divided into two parts, Prati Madhyama, and Suddha Madhyama Ragas. Check out all of them stated below:

Book Free Trial Class


Phone Number:

1. Shuddha Madhyama

  • Indu Chakra
    • Kanakangi
    • Ratnangi
    • Ganamurti
    • Vanaspati
    • Manavati
    • Tanarupi
  • Netra Chakra
    • Senavati
    • Hanumatodi
    • Dhenuka
    • Natakapriya
    • Kokilapriya
    • Rupavati
  • Agni Chakra
    • Gayakapriya
    • Vakulabharanam
    • Mayamalavagoulai
    • Chakravakam
    • Suryakantam
    • Hatakambari
  • Veda Chakra
    • Jhankaradhvani
    • Natabhairavi
    • Keeravani
    • Kharaharapriya
    • Gowrimanohari
    • Varunapriya
  • Bana Chakra
    • Mararanjani
    • Charukesi
    • Sarasangi
    • Harikambhoji
    • Dhirasankarabharanam
    • Naganandini
  • Rutu Chakra
    • Yagapriya
    • Ragavardhini
    • Gangeyabhusani
    • Vagadheeswari
    • Sulini
    • Chalanata

2. Prati Madhyama

  • Rishi Chakra
    • Salagam
    • Jalarnavam
    • Jhalavarali
    • Navanitam
    • Pavani
    • Raghupriya
  • Vasu Chakra
    • Gavambhodi
    • Bhavapriya
    • Subhapantuvarali
    • Sadvidamargini
    • Suvarnangi
    • Divyamani
  • Brahma Chakra
    • Dhavalambari
    • Namanarayani
    • Kamavardhini
    • Ramapriya
    • Gamanasrama
    • Vishwambhari
  • Disi Chakra
    • Samalangi
    • Shanmukhapriya
    • Simhendramadhyamam
    • Hemavati
    • Dharmavati
    • Nitimati
  • Rudra Chakra
    • Kantamani
    • Rishabhapriya
    • Latangi
    • Vachaspati
    • Mechakalyani
    • Chitrambari
  • Aditya Chakra
    • Sucharita
    • Jyoti svarupini
    • Dhathuvardhini
    • Nasikabhushani
    • Kosalam
    • Rasikapriya

These are the different ragas in Carnatic music.

Gain Proper Knowledge of Music

Let's wrap it up now. After reading this blog, you came to know about the 72 ragas, but in order to get practical exposure, attending the online sangeetham classes is a must. When your child is guided by a well-trained professional, they will instill the proper knowledge in your kid from a tender age.

Related Articles

External Articles

Related Blogs